Message No : 7Sr.No : 23/724
Question By : Atif Suhail

Respected Mufti Saheb,
Assalamu Alikum

Today in the market a drink is sold in shops under the title of the 'Fruit Beer' having the label of 'Nonalcoholic' and the ingredients are, carbonated water, sugar, and citric acid, contains, and permitted class ii, preservative and flavour. No fruit juice/pulp.

Please tell me whether it is valid or invalid in Islam for drinking for the Muslims.
Thanking you

Atif suhail
Jamia Millia Islamia
New Delhi-25


Reply By : Md. Obaidullah Mohiuddin Qasmi
Designation : Mufti: Online darul Ifta, MMERC, Mumbai 

Dear brother in Islam
Wa'laikumus Salam

Drinking of Alcohol or wine is Haram (unlawful). Content is counted and not the label or title. So if a lawful content is sold by the title of wine or beer, it will be lawful to drink it. Likewise, if an unlawful content (e.g. wine, beer, alcohol etc.) is sold by the title of Sharbat etc. it will not be allowed. In your case, if the 'Fruit beer' drinks does not contain any unlawful content, it will be lawful and will not be unlawful only because of the title word 'Beer'.
Thanking You

To view complete list of questions posted on the topic Click Here

To post your Question Click Here.

Eastern Cresent
Current Issue October 2012
Click here to join markazulmaarif E-Groups on Yahoo!